Skip to content

Nokia SU-1B Digital Pen (part 2)

March 24, 2008

su1b.jpgNow that I’ve had my SU-1B for a few days I thought I’d do another write up about it. I’ve only been able to Bluetooth pair it with my phone as of today. Unlike most Bluetooth devices that use a default code of 0000 or 1111, the SU-1B used a different code for each pen. This code is on a card in the box when you buy it, the trouble was that I bought mine second hand and the seller no longer had the card and didn’t know the number. I’ve had a look on the Nokia support forum and found an answer. On the back of the pen is a long serial number, it turns out that the last four digits of this serial number are also the Bluetooth pass key, so now I can finally send hand written notes to my N95-8GB as well as my laptop.

The pen comes with two notepads sized A5 and B7. Various online retailers sell pads of digital paper in sizes A4 and A5 but the B7 one is hard to find. The B7 pad is mainly for writing small notes and sketches that you intend to send via MMS from a mobile phone. Luckily on the CD that comes with the pen there are two pdf templates in both A5 and B7 so that you can print your own paper instead of having to buy it. It looks like I may have to do this for the small MMS pad but for the larger sizes I don’t mind buying them, it’s much nicer to have a spiral bound notepad than loose pieces of printed paper and they’re not too expensive.

screenshot0004.jpg

I sent my first image to my phone this morning and took a screenshot. It’s a simple process, draw or write on a new page of the pad, touch the pen nib in one of two boxes, there’s one for a small image and one for a larger one, then touch the nib in the send box and a gif image is sent via Bluetooth to your phone. This can then be sent to anyone via email or MMS.

 

 

 

Sending to a PC I did and wrote about a few days ago so I wont cover that again. As well as converting ink to text like I did in my previous post here, you could just email the image file to someone. Here are a few test files that I uploaded to flickr when I was testing out different colours and line thicknesses.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. LeonVeliki permalink
    March 27, 2008 1:47 pm

    This article is great. It helped me a lot. Thanks!

  2. steves71 permalink*
    March 27, 2008 2:23 pm

    Thanks for the complement :) If the help you refer to is about a lost bluetooth pass key, it took me so long to find that info that it was something I just has to share in the hope that it might be useful to others too.

  3. LeonVeliki permalink
    March 27, 2008 3:28 pm

    Yes, it was exsactly the pass key part:) I had the pin code in the package, but it was wrong one.
    I now only have to figure out, what to do, as I always recieve .pgc file in my phone, and n95 can not read it.
    Do you maybe have any idea?

  4. steves71 permalink*
    March 27, 2008 4:56 pm

    Are you sure it’s a pgc file and not a pgd? A pgd is the file that the nokia software on a computer understands, this shouldn’t be getting sent to the phone, on the phone you should receive a gif. Are you using the original paper that comes with the pen or is it some thats been purchased separately? If its the original paper then I’ve got no Idea what’s wrong, with mine once I’ve finished writing or drawing on the paper I just mark one of the two boxes on the bottom for either a large or small image (this depends on which size of the two pads I’ve used) then mark the send box and a gif is sent to my phone.

    If it’s not the original paper then that could explain it. I’ve just purchased some pads for the Logitech io2 digital pen. These can’t be sent to the phone at all they can only be sent to a pc when the pen is docked but I had a hard time getting the nokia software to recognize the paper type. It gives an error and asks if I want to download the correct paper definition file but when I click on “yes” it connects to the internet and shortly after gives another error that it can’t find it. I ended up having to install the Logitech software, the Nokia software then recognised the paper and it downloaded it from the pen to the PC. This last bit not going to be relevant to your bluetoothing to a phone problem but it might come in hands if you buy any different paper.

  5. LeonVeliki permalink
    April 5, 2008 9:42 am

    Yes, I am positive it is pgc file. Well I recently found out that it is the problem in paper. When using Black & Red paper with SU-1B it is not working otherweise than sending the pgc file to my nokia. As you said, the paper definiton can not be found on net, but allthough when I tired for cupple of times it suddenly foud the definition of paper, but I someties like more, that I get gif to my phone reather just some coordinates.
    When I bought the original Esselte notepad it works great. I get the gif image to my Nokia N95. When I am using SU-27W I have to have a SW installed on my nokia, that translates the coordinates to image.

    When I contacted the Nokia Support, they said, that both pens are not compatibe with N95 (just with N95 8GB), but I can confirm that both pen are working great with N95. I guess they do not test the hardware at all.

  6. Milan permalink
    June 16, 2008 3:41 am

    Hi, sorry about my bad english :)

    I have nokia digital pen su-1b, and i cant pair it with my nokia 6120 classic, when i try to do so, it request bluetooth code, i enter it, and whole thing is stuck in the process, the indicator on pen is blinking and nothing else is happening, but my phone is recognizing pen.Please help me.
    Foreclose Thanks!

  7. steves71 permalink*
    June 16, 2008 7:00 pm

    I’ve never tried it with my 6120c until now, just tried it to see if it does work and it paired straight away so not sure what your ptoblem is. You could try this though. First make sure there are no other bluetooth devices turned on near by. Make sure bluetooth is turnrd on on your 6120c and visability is set to “show to all”. Now exit out of the bluetooth screen back to the normal stand by screen. Touch the Nokia pen on the “pairing box” at the back of the notebook pad to start the paiting process. Now just leave it next to your phone until the phone ask for the passcode. It may take a while before the phone detects the request from the pen. I’ve had more luck doing it this way rather than using my phone to search for new bluetooth devices. If this doesnt work I dont know what the problem is, are you sure your using the right pass code.

  8. Milan permalink
    June 16, 2008 8:13 pm

    When i tried to pair it from book box, i entered code, and waited for about an 25 minutes and indicator on pen was blinking, and nothing happened, just pan went on standby mode.
    When i tray to pair it from my phone, i entered bluetooth code (from card, or last 4 digits from back of the pen from serial number) and pres ok, pen just switched down.I had to pres restart button on pen to make it work again.

  9. steves71 permalink*
    June 16, 2008 9:02 pm

    Have you got access to a different Nokia phone that you could try it with. I’ve paired my pen with a couple of N95-8GB’s, N73, E61 and the 6120c and all worked fine. Try it with a different phone, if that won’t work either I think you might have a faulty pen. I’ve never had mine lock up so that it needed to be reset.

  10. leonveliki permalink
    June 17, 2008 7:51 pm

    Huh, copy and paste whole thing from http to …state=

  11. Barry permalink
    July 30, 2008 12:59 pm

    Hi – tried the link – nothing on it. Does anyone know of another link to get the firmware?

  12. steves71 permalink*
    July 30, 2008 7:19 pm

    Barry try this link http://europe.nokia.com/A4143871 it will take you direct to the language selection page for the firmware and software suite.

  13. Renegade permalink
    October 8, 2008 4:02 pm

    Hi! This is a very good article about the SU-1B! Maybe the best I ever read. And the info with the serial was very helpful for me, too.
    As I was using a tablet PC the last years I almost forgot this nice gadget! Since I changed the PC now from a tablet to an ultra-mobile device I miss the chance of making handwritten notes and sketches!
    As I lost the whole box even the CD is away now. You told that there were PDFs on it that can be printed.
    Have you an idea where to get these files?
    It would be very nice if you could contact me via email with suggestions!
    BR Renegade

  14. steves71 permalink*
    October 8, 2008 8:01 pm

    @Renegage did you use your real email address to leave that comment or a bogus one? If it was real let me know and I’ll email the 2 files to you, it’s just under 3mb for both of them. If it was bogus then leave another comment using a real address and I’ll email them to that one.

  15. Renegade permalink
    October 9, 2008 10:03 am

    Yes! That’s my real adress ;) … There is an included spam filter in it, as the old spam machines didn’t support adresses like that.
    If your mail machine doesn’t support the format either you can use the one I left in this comment!
    Thanks in advance
    Renegade

  16. Emil permalink
    February 12, 2009 8:51 am

    Plese, send me on bachvaroff@yahoo.com pdf. templates A5 and B7 , so I can print on my paper

    thank you very much

  17. June 2, 2009 8:45 am

    Im also looking for the pdf templates for this pen.
    If you have time, please email me at useful@sbcglobal.net

    Thanks!

  18. Johnny permalink
    February 7, 2010 10:49 pm

    I too have lost the CD and am looking for these files. Please, if any of you have got these files do send them to my e-mail xxxxxxxx@hotmail.com. Thank you very much beforehand. Johnny

    —-edit by Steves71—-
    Files sent so email removed to protect you from spam.

  19. Paul Warren permalink
    February 19, 2010 4:19 pm

    If anyone does have the PDF templates for printing your own paper I would be eternally grateful if they could send me a copy at xxxxxxxx@mail.com

    cheers
    Paul.

    • steves71 permalink*
      February 20, 2010 9:32 am

      The files have now been send so I have removed your email address.

  20. Jake permalink
    March 22, 2010 7:35 pm

    Hi steve,

    I got one of these second hand without a cd. Can you please send me the files required to print my own paper to xxxxxxxx@xxxxxxx.com.

    Thanks!

    Jake

    • steves71 permalink*
      March 27, 2010 2:48 pm

      Paper files sent so email address has been removed.

  21. March 27, 2010 6:42 pm

    Anyone interested in this streaming application? It works with the Nokia SU-1B Pen.
    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=writedigipc

  22. April 27, 2010 9:42 am

    Hello

    Nice blog
    Can i have the templates please?
    And do you know where i can buy the original notepads?
    i know they are made by Esselte but i can’t find them
    i found one made by Oxford but its not working with the nokia pen or t must have the oxford denos software installed to have it working with the pen i think.

    Thanks.

  23. December 21, 2010 4:34 am

    do you know if is possible to obtain another files, I think all paper sales are discontinued and I would like to have some A4 files. I can’t find pdf’s files o making paper software compatible wiht Nokia su-1b. thanks a lot

  24. January 14, 2011 10:06 pm

    thats great but what happens when the strip containing the serial number is also missing , buy a new pen???

    • steves71 permalink*
      January 14, 2011 10:12 pm

      Unfortunately yes, I don’t know of any other way to obtain the Bluetooth code if it has been lost.

  25. George Dall permalink
    April 12, 2013 12:08 pm

    Does anybody know where I can download the software for the Nokia SU-1B Digital Pen and where to get paper / notebooks that will work with it?
    Thanks

  26. June 21, 2013 11:14 pm

    Please, anyone can upload iso image of the CD for SU-1B?

  27. January 2, 2015 2:28 pm

    You post very interesting articles here. Your website deserves much bigger audience.
    It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know very
    useful service that can help you, just type in google: svetsern traffic tips

Leave a Reply

